Keto vs. Low Carb, and how I fell into accidental keto

First of all, I’d like to say that keto is not a “diet” at all. It’s a way of life. It’s something that you have to maintain, even after you hit your goal. My body likes to grab fat and hold onto it for dear life. If I’m going to be successful losing weight and keeping it off long-term, I’m always going to need to watch what and how I eat.

I started off with this “diet” thinking that I could handle going low carb. Following the typical low carb plan, you start off the first “phase” doing what they call “induction” which means you have to stay under 20g net carbs per day. I went heavily into research to see how to do this, what to eat, what not to eat, what Carbohydrates are. OH LAWD, turns out carbs are all the things that I love and adore! Who knew?!!! Bless my heart.

Carbohydrates – Fiber = Net Carbs 

As soon as I figured out that I could start out with meat and cheese and some other simple things, I went for it. I started a Pinterest board for low carb recipes, since I like to bake, and I discovered that I could bake some killer brownies that would not only knock my sugar craving right out, but would also make me “feel” like I’ve had cake.  (See Recipe link below) I started quickly discovering that this way of eating is all about making it work for you so that you can stick with it!

Normally, after the first phase, you would slowly introduce more carbs into your diet, but I was finding that I was okay with 20 a day. I did a little more research, and discovered that I was doing the Keto, or Ketogenic diet, by staying under 20g carbs per day. I was finally an overachiever at something HAHA! Now I just needed to figure out what else I was supposed to be doing and not doing. I had already cut back my diet pepsi intake to one per day. It was like my morning coffee, don’t speak, to me until I took that first sip. I hate water more than the Wicket Witch of the West, man. It’s nasty.  Luckily, I had long ago discovered water “enhancers” which add flavor to your water, and it is sweetened with Sucralose, which I tolerate well. Unlike aspartame, which turns me into above said witchy witch. Aspartame is seriously mood-altering for me, who knew?

Basically, very basically, your body on carbs burns glucose as it’s primary source of fuel. Take away the carbs/sugar and your body starts burning fat! If you are wanting to know more at this point, the folks over at Ruled Me have put together a lot of good information about keto and made it really easy to understand. There are a couple of different ways to “do” keto. Lazy keto is just cutting out the carbs to stay under 20g per day. More strict versions of keto would be tracking your “macros” similarly to a low-fat diet, where you watch calories, protein, and fat as well. I’ve been doing lazy keto for about three weeks now, and overall I’ve lost 18 pounds. I think the ease of not measuring food and counting every bite that goes into my mouth is personally what has kept me going. I’ve already changed my goal weight to a smaller number, and looking forward to attaining it!

keto pyramid

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

